Residency Training

Training future neurologists and neurosurgeons has been, and continues to be, a top priority for Semmes Murphey. Our partnership with the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) dates back to 1932 when Dr. Semmes became the first Professor of Neurosurgery at the University.

Learn more
Two doctors standing in a surgery room looking at image guided surgery with patient in foreground

Our physicians and surgeons are proud to serve as the faculty for the UTHSC Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery.

Medical Students

Visiting rotations are available for medical students and prospective resident applicants. We have unlimited slots available from August to January.

If you are interested in a neurosurgical rotation at our institution, contact the advisor of your home institution for assistance applying via the Visiting Student Learning Opportunities (VSLO) Program (formerly VSAS).

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and resulting restrictions for Sub-Is this year, the UTHSC Neurosurgery Residency Program will plan to offer virtual opportunities for prospective resident applicants to learn more about our program. This includes virtual involvement in resident conferences and grand rounds, as well as other upcoming virtual activities for those interested in applying to our residency.

For questions about visiting student rotations in Memphis, contact Wendy Elliott by clicking the link below or calling (901) 448-6375.

Email Us

Learn About Our Program

Interested in the UTHSC Neurosurgery Residency Program in Memphis? Hear from some of our very own residents and their favorite aspects of the program.


We’re proud of our residents and their hard work and commitment to pushing the fields of neurology and neurosurgery into the future.

Emal Lesha WC Photo

Emal Lesha


David Wallace

David Wallace


Sean Himel WC Photo

Sean Himmel


Blum deke 1

Deke Blum


Motiwala mustafa 1

Mustafa Motiwala


Schwartz barrett 1

Barrett Schwartz



Jock Lillard


Parikh web

Kara Parikh


Roberts web

Mallory Dacus


Garret Venable web

Garrett Venable


Will Mangham web

Will Mangham


Vincent Nguyen web

Vincent Nguyen


Kenneth Moore web

Kenneth Moore


Doug Taylor web

Douglas Taylor


Jaafar Basma web

Jaafar Basma